A Tribute to the Theatre Kids

My school is doing a production of Beauty and the Beast, and we just started rehearsals. I got cast as Babette, if you were curious. But as I’ve met and watched people I barely know during rehearsal, I’ve gained a new appreciation for theatre kids. Here are some things I appreciate in theatre kids:

1. I’m pretty sure theatre kids are the funniest people alive. It’s hard to go through a rehearsal without laughing at least once (unless the director is angry…but you get my point).

2. We all know that song too! Not just showtunes, but Disney and choir songs as well. We all seem to know and love the same songs. And in 3 part harmony too!

3. They know how to handle stress. Tech week, performances, auditions, lessons, all of it…it makes you pretty great at not stressing…usually.

4. They don’t judge at all. Theatre kids are the most understanding, probably because we’re all a bit eccentric. I love how I don’t even need to hesitate before doing something normally seen as weird like lying down and trying to sleep on the floor during rehearsal or attempting to beatbox…etc.

5. Harmonizing. ‘Nuff said.

6. They’re always (ok most of the time) so supportive whenever anyone does…well…anything really. Especially if it’s new. But we’ll cheer at everything! Today’s your birthday? You mastered that accent? You actually got sleep last night? You found a pencil on the floor? Seriously anything. It’s great.

7. There’s a higher level of empathy. Acting forces you to put yourself in a character’s shoes. This makes us really good at understanding the people around us.

8. Quote a Broadway song and soon you’re all singing the musical. Not just a few songs…the whole musical.

9. You are a family, from the moment the cast list is posted to the cast party and beyond. How can you not be? So in the halls, in class, at lunch, you have at least seven people that recognize you and say hi!

10. They always make you want to go to rehearsal even more. You leave rehearsal wishing you could stay to spend more time with the people in the show.

I can’t believe how amazing my theatre friends are, and I’m looking forward to making more friends in Beauty and the Beast! I love you theatre people!

Stay wonderful!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑